Contents Index

Arctic Ocean

The Arctic is the smallest of the world's oceans, centered roughly on the North Pole. It borders on Russia, Canada, and Alaska, and includes the Bering Sea.

Above 75 degrees north latitude, the entire ocean is covered with a layer of ice. Below that latitude, the ice is seasonal, but in the winter still covers nearly the entire ocean at a depth of between six and twelve feet. Over time, the sea ice loses its salinity; in this form, known as polar pack, it can be melted down and used for drinking water.